1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Ted here...thanks for visiting. Want to join us? No emails, no newsletter, no logging IP and you can delete your account at anytime. No strings attached. We are a very open community.
    Dismiss Notice

My Next Video Editing Computer Build

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Ted, Jan 5, 2017.

1. Ted

Ted Just Adam, AKA, Ted
    Admin

Twitter:
    @tedsmarijuana
    I build #computers fairly often as I gather up the parts to do so and I share them if I think it matters. I have decided to share the next build because it's a #workstation for video and audio editing. I have never built something like this before for a specific purpose. I usually use AMD for gaming (kids) and cost. My home server is Intel i3 and Supermicro combo which was a cool build that I will share soon. That's a Freenas box.

Why am I sharing this? Some of you might be doing video or thinking about it. I know I am, but I have been trying to buy only when it makes sense. I am currently using a AMD FX 8230 and Sabertooth board and it does fine for everything, but I want something better on power, heat, and speed. I am not rich or made out of money like many so I slow rolled this.

Here are the parts I grabbed over the past 15 months when deals were online. Get your deals using this subreddit. Now the list:

• Motherboard $120 2015 Cyber Monday frys.com - MSI x99a Raider
    • CPU $148 f/s eBay December 2016 - Xeon ES LGA 2011-3 2650 10c 20t 2.2GHz
    • GPU $200 for pair Feb 2016, local FB group - 2 AMD 7970 3GB RAM
    • SSD $249.00 Amazon Jan 2017 - Samsung 960 Evo M.2 3x4 500GB
    • PSU: $99 f/s Amazon Nov 2015 - Sentry 1000W module
    • Case $105 f/s Amazon Dec 2015 - Cosair Obsidian Series 750D Full Tower
    • Optical Drive $35 Dec 2016 Amazon - LG Blu-Ray DVD Writer
    • OS - Win7 Ultimate, I hated Win 8.1 and didn't want Win10